Its Sunday people, did you get your church on this am? I know I did and it was amazing that Pastor Moore is a wonderful vessel Lord!! But after church how do you normally spend your Sunday? For me it’s cleaning, cooking, and getting ready for the week. Now that I work two jobs I seem to have more cleaning on Sundays then I would like but once I get my music going it’s a breeze. I am a person who has to have everything in a specific place and everything needs to be spic and span but lately I have been neglecting some cleaning to try to give more attention to my son. Sometimes I get so caught up in what I need to do that I forget he needs stimulation, so even if it’s just for 15 minutes, maybe you can take a break and sit down and draw/paint a picture with your little one(s), read a few books, or maybe sit in the floor with them and play with their toys with them. When you do this try to provide them with your undivided attention; meaning put that phone down and give social media a break just to give them that time they need with you and when they are over it they will move on to the next thing and you can get back to your housework. I also find myself turning on music and just dancing in the floor with my son for a few minutes not only does it give me some sort of physical activity but he enjoys it, to him its play, its fun and it’s with me.

Now when it comes to dinner, of course Sunday dinner has to be LIT.  Food from the soul is always the best food, may not be the healthiest per se but we all can agree ending a refreshed Sunday with some hearty food is sometimes what the doctor ordered. I came across a recipe on Pinterest and tweaked it to what I had in my kitchen for my family. Crockpot Beef and Broccoli; something I could make in my crockpot so I wasn’t over the stove all day, I could get my house work done and give my son the attention he needed as well. So if you eat red meat, you like broccoli, AND don’t want to spend your day in the kitchen this recipe is for you.

What you’ll need:

2 Angus cut USDA Steaks sliced into square chunks

1 cup of beef broth

½ cup of soy sauce

½ cup of brown sugar

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 teaspoon of minced garlic

2 tablespoons of cornstarch

All of the cooled sauce from the crockpot after its cooked

Fresh OR frozen Broccoli florets (as many as you would like)

Hot cooked rice (white, brown or fried)

*For mine I used frozen broccoli, white and fried rice)*

Directions:

1.       Season cut up beef lightly with garlic salt (but lightly because remember you have soy sauce in this recipe) and place in crockpot.

2.       In a bowl, whisk together broth, soy sauce, brown sugar, oil, and garlic. Pour over the beef and you can cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 4-6 hours.

3.       Once meat is done get a big bowl, place a strainer over top of the bowl and pour beef and sauce in, set meat aside.

4.       Stir cornstarch in sauce until smooth or thickened (may take 3 tablespoons), then add meat and sauce back to crockpot.

5.       Add broccoli to crockpot and cook 30-45 minutes depending on how crunchy or soft you want your broccoli. (I did 30 mins, I like crunch) Be sure to stir.

6.       Make your pot of rice. For fried rice use cooked white rice, add to separate skillet with butter, egg, 3 tablespoons of sauce from crockpot and whatever veggies you would like, stir all together in the skillet until brown and egg looks fried

7.       Then add all to plate and enjoy!

Happy Sunday!!